Just the facts as I see it

February 17, 2012

Why can’t Gays/Lesbians get Married?

Filed under: Politics — truth_seeker @ 11:24 pm

I’ll be the first to tell you, I think homosexuality is disgusting. I dont like it, I dont want to see it (unless it’s women. Still wrong, but fun to watch) and I think its immoral. But, I will fight to my last breath to for a gay man or woman to have the same rights I have as straight man.

I know a lot of people dont like to hear this but here it is. The fight for Gay rights is the same thing as the fight for civil rights. I know its not exactly the same thing but its the same game in a different park. To prove my point how many black folk out there would flip if they said you could no longer get married? Or here is a better example. How about in today’s day and age if they said blacks you can nolonger ride the same bus as us “normal” folk. But because we want to be fair we will create a bus system just for you but it wont be everywhere you go. Would you sit down and take that? I dont think so.
Now I know many of you say say is wrong and that’s final. Well my argument to you is who made you the authority on right and wrong. Now its my belief that homosexuality is some thing that you can’t help. You are simply born that way. There are many studies that back that claim up, but I gather this from one piece of information. Who would volunteer to be part of a sect of humanity that routinely gets treated unfairly and sometimes killed because of what they are. I’ll tell you right now if this were slave times, I look like I’m white, guess who would be a free man. I’d help out on the underground railroad but I ain’t going to be a slave if I can pass as white. But if my say so isn’t good enough then here is a link to a study in the U.K.
http://m.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/dec/01/homosexuality-genetics-usa?cat=world&type=article
Let me guess what your next arguement will be. It just not natural. Well let me tell you something, homosexuality has been around and well documented since the Roman empire. They even talked about homosexuality in the bible. Sodam and Gomora ring any bells. Where do u think we got the word sodomy from. But that doesn’t cover it not being natural. What if I told you it does occur in nature? What you don’t believe me? Take a look.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Homosexual_behavior_in_animals

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/04/magazine/04animals-t.html?pagewanted=all

Now these two links are from wikipedia and the NY times. They show homosexual behavior does occur in the animal kingdom. So the only argument left is the religious one. It goes against the bible. We what if I showed you where the bible said slavery was ok? Would you then say that well I guess slavery was ok. Or how about where the bible says that women should have no authority over men and should know her place. (You can look at my previous posts for that info.)Would you women then agree.

Or how about this verse.

John 8:7 So when they continued asking him, he lifted up himself, and said unto them, He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her.

Now I’m no scholar on the bible though I do know my far share. Does this verse not say you should not judge anyone unless you your self are free of sin? If you need it put even simpler

Mat 7:1- 2 Judge not, that ye be not judged. For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.

Are you not judging these people? How can you call yourself a good Christian and still judge them. If this is your belief then you are condemning yourself to the same fate that you say they will get. Now if I was a religious person I would be scared.

Now that brings us to what I feel is the real reason. Once you peel back all the layers this is what you have left. It makes you feel uncomfortable. Well you know what GET OVER IT!!!!! THEIR HERE, THEIR QUEER, GET USED TO IT. It makes me uncomfortable too. I dont like having to explain to my child why 2 men are kissing or why this guy is dressing like a woman. But you know what those are my feeling and just because some thing makes me feel uncomfortable does not give me the right to deny anyone the same rights that I myself have.

Lets look at the some documents that were written by our forefathers:

We the People  of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, doordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

Look at the bold words, Secure the Blessings of Liberty. Liberty, does that not mean freedom. Being able to Marry who you want is freedom.

Here is another one:

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the the pursuit of Happiness.

There is that word again. Liberty. Hey what about that other line Certain unalienable rights. You know that does mean marriage. Oh and what about the all men are created equal. Oh let me guess they only meant straight men. I don’t think so. You know if they meant that they would have said that. Homosexuality was around and known about in 1776. So what is your reason. What reason do you have to deny another person the same rights and privileges that you as a heterosexual person have now. I sure hope its a good one.

2 Comments »

  1. Good read sir. Had me uncomfortable at first but then I got where you were going

    Comment by Mo — February 19, 2012 @ 7:03 pm

    • That’s the point. I want to bring out the uncomfortable. That way u have to face the issue

      Comment by truth_seeker — February 21, 2012 @ 7:09 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

