Just the facts as I see it

February 7, 2012

The Entitlement Generations

Filed under: Uncategorized — truth_seeker @ 5:54 pm

I look around and see this everywhere. People thinking that they are entitled to one thing or another. They don’t want to put in the work they just think that they should get it. This comes in many forms and is ruining our society. I hear people say I’m to good to work at McDonalds, Wal-Mart, Target etc…. I see it with kids telling parents what they are going to do instead of the other way around. People this is ruining our society from the bottom up. Now as a person of color that has lived in both black and white neighborhoods I see the difference in how it affects the neighborhoods. This seemed to start with some of our parents generation (the baby boomers) and the later in that generation you are the more likely you were to give your child/children a sense of false entitlement. It on got worse with my generation and now we can see the real results with our kids. Here are some ways we really fucked up and our parents fucked us up.

Just giving money to the kids – Now this is more in my generation.

Kid – Mom can I have $20.

Mom – Why?

Kid – I wanna go out with my friends.

Mom – Didnt you just get your allowence?

Kid – Yes but I spent that already.

Mom – On what?!?!

Kid – I dunno.

Mom – You need to start being more responsible with your money. every week you ask me for more money.

Kid – BUT MOM!!!!!!

Mom – Here.

Now this sound familiar? It should we all tried it on our parents but with our parents probably half of  them said no and meant it. Now what do we do we remember how bad w felt when our parents said no and they we say yes. This is not teaching our kids to know how to manage their money. We are setting them up for failure. This is also teaching them that no matter what there will always be someone there to give them what they want. This is providing them with zero work ethic. So when they do get older they are going to go do what will give them the biggest payout with the least amount of effort. Unfortunately in the real world that means crime

The other side to this is when children get an allowance just because. I remember to get my measly $10 a week I had to wash the dishes, take out the trash, and clean my room every Saturday plus keep it clean over the week. If I couldn’t do this then I got no money. (I didn’t get much money) Now I see kids getting an allowance just because. This is very bad, this is worse then giving them money because they ask. All you are teaching your child is someone will always give me what I want and I dont have to do anything to get it.

The next one that gets is when parents buy all the name brand crap for their kids. If you can afford it fine. But if your still living at home and got a kid or your struggling to pay your real bills WHY THE FUCK ARE YOU GOING TO PAY $80 FOR A PAIR OF SNEAKERS FOR A 6MONTH OLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And you continue to do this through out their childhood. By the age of 5 your child sees you struggling to keep the lights on but also sees that you just paid $1000 for his 5 pieces of clothing for your self or for them. If you showed your child the right way you would have spent $1000 on bills and then $200 on clothes., but no we cant have that can we. You cant be caught in K-mart specials. Your kid has to have the new Jordans – $180 another pair of sneakers because he cant run around in the Jordans  – $100 Pair of Jeans $100-150, Shirt $100 – 200. For the amount of this you could have paid cell, internet, cable, home phone, gas, & electric and have some left over. Teach your kids the value of $$$$ This way when they start buying their own stuff they will think twice. Even if you come from a wealthy family there is no need to buy a child who does nothing to earn it all these name brand clothes.

This latest gereration is going to have it the worse. I’m seeing people getting out of college demanding 50k-60k a year because they have a bachlours degree. Turning down jobs that pay 35-40K. saying they aint paying me enough. Just because you have a degree doesn’t mean that you get paid. They have no experince but they want 50-60k to start. Real life doesnt work like that. Then they want to live at home with mommy and daddy and not pay any bills. “Why should I pay bills at my parents house? I didn’t pay them when I was in school” I’ll tell you why because your an adult now. That what adults do. Even worse the parents let them do it.

Its not just the parents that are screwing our kids, its the schools. The rules that the schools are coming up with now are insane. I’m reading study after study that is shows that playing tag is detrimental to a child’s psyche.   Along with a ban on dodge ball in many states now for being exclusionary. Give me a fucking break.

http://www.cbn.com/media/player/index.aspx?s=/vod/A26TAG

You know what these games do they teach kids that life if not fair, your not always going to win, they teach you how deal with loss, How to work with others to win. One lesson I learned at an early age that has stuck with me is, not everyone gets picked. For a whole school year I was always the last one picked to play sports. I just was not good at football, baseball, basketball etc… Did it hurt that I was the last one picked? Did it hurt that there where times where someone who wasent even trying to play was picked instead of me. Damn right it hurt. I cried. I ra home to my mom in tears. Guess what she told me. If you want to get picked then practice. And I did, I practiced running, tackaling, hitting the ball, pitching. I got better. I went from shamfully bad to just bad. I wasent always the last one picked now. But that taught me very valuble life lessons. 1, I just sucked at sports. (I did become pretty good on the defensive line) 2 If you want something you have to go for it. 3 Nothing is going to be handed to me. I have to work for everything. Those simple life lessons were learned by the age of 7. I have carried that through life and I have done pretty good for myself so far.   Another thing schools are doing are everyone plays sports. This is fine for grade school and younger but in high school, no. High school is supposed to truly prepare you for the adult world. Not everyone gets to play in life. There are always going to be those that are bigger and better then you. Do you think that if a company has an opening for 20 people and 21 people apply, that they are going to hire that 21st person just because they dont want him to feel left out. No they are going to hire the 20 and tell the 21st sorry you didnt make it. better luck next time. But by allowing these children who dont have an athletic bone in their body to still play ball because you dont want them to feel left out your actually hurting that child rather then helping them. Your teaching them that no matter what they will receive a chance when it’s not true. Your not making them earn their position. Your teaching them that they will always “make the team” and when you teach a child this for 18 yrs its devastating the first time they shot down, but now their an adult and dont know what to do. They have never had that disappointment in their life.

The only thing that you are entitled to in this life is just that LIFE. No one is going to support you. Yes we may help you but we will not and should not support you.  Go back to the old days where parents were parents.

2 Comments »

  1. I don’t care what you say, I’m going to spoil my daughter and keep her in a reality check to. It can go both ways. But, as for the clothes and other things. Well, there are somethings that you can’t go cheap on, such as diapers. Sorry, but I refuse to have my daughter wear cheap diapers. As for the clothes, well…..walmart, target and kmart has some nice stuff for children for cheap prices. I will not pay 100 + for shoes, on myself or my daughter. Yeah, that is not going to happen. But, Jason you are correct, I see it in the Navy way to much these days. I don’t owe you shit…..I worked hard to get where I am at, and I will continue to work hard at everything I do, and my daughter will learn that hard lessons through life, but i will make it a lil bit easier for her. That is what a parent is suppose to do, make life not as hard for the child, but to instill good morals, and habits that will benefit them when they grow up, so they can make the right decisions in life.

    Comment by josh — February 8, 2012 @ 6:59 am

    • It’s one thing to spoil your daughter, but its another if you do it without teaching her responsibility. I completely understand about somethings you need to spend top dollar on. But the majority of people spend it on junk. By no means is this post ment to discourage parents from trying to give their kids a better life. But just giving money and buying expensive things for them is not going to help your child in the long run. You have to teach them how to manage money, make money, follow the law, and most important BE RESPECTFUL. If you do these things and just be there for your kid to help them up not stop them from falling then you will raise a child who will stand a chance in this world.

      Comment by truth_seeker — February 8, 2012 @ 6:43 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

